Auszug aus dem EAAE Extra-Newsflash Juni 2022

Call for Nominations

EAAE Publication Awards for 2021


You can now submit nominations for the EAAE Research Discovery Award and the Societal Impact award in honour of Giovanni Anania


The Publication Awards program of the European Association of Agricultural Economists (EAAE) recognizes professional excellence in research contributing to the advancement of knowledge in areas related to food, agricultural and resource economics.

The Publication Awards program of the EAAE includes three annual Awards:

  • the Outstanding ERAE Journal Article
  • the Research Discovery Award
  • the EAAE Societal Impact award in honour of Giovanni Anania


For the Outstanding ERAE Journal Article Award, all articles published in the Review in 2021 are automatically eligible. The recipient is selected by the ERAE Editorial Board; there is therefore no formal nomination procedure.

For the Research Discovery Award and the EAAE Societal Impact award in honour of Giovanni Anania, outstanding publications can be nominated by members of the Association, including self-nominations.

The EAAE is now seeking nominations in the category of the Research Discovery Award for journal articles published in the calendar year 2021. In addition, we are seeking nominations for the EAAE Societal Impact Award in honour of Giovanni Anania. The EAAE encourages you to nominate either your own publication or to nominate your colleagues’ publications.


Publication Awards are a quality signal from the profession. They are good for CVs!


The nomination procedure is very simple:

  • Send by email both your own contact details (as in your business card) and the article in pdf that you wish to nominate;
  • All nominations will be scored on several criteria including relevance, quality, originality, potential societal impact;
  • Send nominations to the Secretary-General of the Association ( by the 31st   of August 2022.
  • Members of the current Publication Awards Selection Committee or the EAAE board (see below) are not eligible to be nominated for an Award.

For the Research Discovery Award and the EAAE Societal Impact Award in honour of Giovanni Anania, nominated publications should be in the English language and can enter the selection process only if at least one of the authors is a member of the EAAE before the deadline for nominations. Members of the EAAE awards committee or the EAAE board are not eligible.

The Publication Awards Selection Committee will assess the suitability of the nominated and eligible publications for both categories.

The Award recipients are proposed by the Publication Awards Selection Committee to the EAAE board. Recipients of Awards will be presented at the next EAAE triennial Congress in Rennes, 2023.


Jutta Roosen

EAAE President



The Research Discovery Award

The research must be a significant scientific contribution to the field of knowledge in any of the areas of agricultural economics. The work should demonstrate excellence in research and may present a theoretical or methodological innovation.

Journal articles must have been published in 2021. The date of publication is that of the issue; articles available online in their final form on the journal’s web page, for which the 2021 issue in which they will appear is unequivocally known are eligible for the Award, even if the issue has not been published in print yet. Maximum one award is given.


The EAAE Societal Impact Award in honour of Giovanni Anania

This Award recognizes an outstanding publication that used research results to provide value for society. The publication preferably has already a demonstrable impact on society, by referring to a change or an initiation of a change in policy, business practice, social practice or societal debate, which was incentivised by, or can be related to the research. It can do this by directly exploiting results or by playing an active role ensuring stakeholders effectively use the results.

The purpose of the Award is to recognize excellence, and encourage interest in societally relevant economic research. Members can nominate their own publication, or the publication of another EAAE member. The price can be awarded to a journal article, book or book chapter, that has been published between 2016 and 2021. The date of a journal article is that of the issue. The award is granted once per three years.

The potential candidates should address the following criteria:

  • Pathway from output (results from research) to societal benefits. Publications should show how research results have contributed to societal benefits as well as their scalability and sustainability
  • Achieved impact: Authors should provide verifiable examples about how their research results have benefitted the society and who are the user communities that have profited from it.


Past winners

The list of past winners of the Outstanding ERAE Journal Article and the Research Discovery Award are available on the EAAE website. The EAAE Societal Impact Award in honour of Giovanni Anania has been announced for the first time in the 2021 Call. It has tried to refund in only one award the former Policy Contribution Award in honour of Giovanni Anania and the EAAE Book Award. Past winners of both awards can be found in the same link.



Publication Awards Selection Committee 2020-2022


The Publication Awards Selection Committee is composed of nine members. The Past President and President Elect of the Association, one of the co-Editors of the ERAE and the Editor of EuroChoices are ex-officio members of the Committee, with the Past President chairing the Committee; the remaining five members are appointed by the EAAE Board.


The Publication Awards Selection Committee for the Awards triennial period 2020-2022:


Margherita Scoppola (EAAE Past President, Chair)

José M. Gil (EAAE President Elect)

John Davis (EuroChoices Editor)

Carl Johan Lagerkvist (ERAE Coordinating Editor)

Steve McCorriston (University of Exeter, UK)

Agata Malak-Rawlikowska (Warsaw University of Life Sciences, Poland)

María Loureiro (University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain)

Eirik Romstad (Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Oslo, Norway)

Luisa Menapace (TUM, Germany)

Zohra Bouamra-Mechemache (Toulouse School of Economics, France)

Comments are disabled for this post.